top of page
  • janiayajefferson

Personal Portfolio..

Updated: Aug 1, 2019


For my personal profile I conducted an interview with a registered nurse that works in a Doctor’s officer at a retirement home called Westminister Oaks here in Tallahassee. The nurse I interviewed name is Melanie and she works as a geriatric care giver. I met Melanie 5 years ago when my mom got a promotion into the office that Melanie works in. After meeting Melanie my passion to become a nurse grew because watching her do her job was inspiring. Through the interview I gained knowledge about why she considered nursing and the different experiences she encounters every day. Before we got into in-depth conversation we talked about other things as we usually do. These questions I have listed and responses are the questions/answers I feel are very important for creating my research paper.


1. ME: “Why did you decide on a career as a nurse?”


Melanie: Before I came to Tallahassee, I lived in Chicago. In Chicago the crime rate is very high and there is a lot of violence there. During my 10thyear of high school my brother was killed. The thing about that entire situation is me watching those nurses basically give up on my brother, a part of me felt they could have done more and every day working as a nurse I still feel that way. I decide to pursue a career in nursing so that I could do more for every patient that enters my office. I grew a passion for helping others and I knew nursing would be the perfect career for me to help other.


2. Me: “How you deal with someone who isn’t satisfied with your patient care?”


Melanie: Honestly, I don’t know any person that enjoys feeling well. When a patient comes to see me, I strive to do everything I can for every patient. Working as a nurse even giving your best will sometimes not be enough for some patients. I have had lots of situations where patients felt like I could have done more. In situations like those I sit back and assess the entire visit and try to figure out the things I did wrong. I sometimes even ask others nurses in the office for advice or for ways to better deal with that patient’s specific issue.


3. Me: “What you feel your greatest skill as a nurse is?”


Melanie: Being able to communicate. That’s very important, because nothing frustrates a patient more than feeling like they’re not being heard. Making a patient feel heard gets them to feel more comfortable about my care.


4. Me: “How do you handle the stress of the job?”


Melanie: I don’t really show my frustration while at work, I deal with most of my stressors at home or outside of work. To prevent stress, I try planning out my entire day. I am really familiar with every patient that comes in the office so that helps with me kind of having a head start with what my day may look like. I know whether I’m going to deal with a difficult patient or one that makes my day smooth.


5. Me: “What do you find is the hardest part about being a nurse?”


Melanie: Not being able to satisfy everyone! That’s it..


6. Me: “How have you improved as a nurse over the last 2 years?”


Melanie: Every day I improve. Being a nurse, every day is a learning experience. I’ve improved in just about everything that prepared me for becoming a nurse. A lot of my patients love me, they sometimes just stop by to say hi. That enough lets me know that I’m improving every day.


7. Me: “What really motivates you to come to work every day?”


Melanie: My family. I moved from Chicago to raise my children in a better environment. I get up every day to show my children that success is an option and it’s more to life than sitting around.


8. Me: “What are the biggest challenges or issues that you think every nurse face today?”


Melanie: Difficult patients. I honestly can’t speak for every nurse because every experience is different.


9. Me: “What advice would you give someone who is planning to join the nursing community?


Melanie: Do it! It’s a great career. I enjoy it very much, just don’t give up. It’s definitely not going to be easy, there will be sleepless nights, difficult classes but it’s definitely worth it. Just prepare yourself for dealing with different types of people.


10. Me: If you knew what you know now as being a nurse, would you still have chosen this career? Why?”

Yes, I love my job. I can’t see myself doing anything else.


Melanie and I talked about so much, but I asked her these specific questions for my very own reason. I plan to major in nursing and asking her these questions have helped me decide on pursuing my career as a nurse. I had these question typed on my computer before I met with Melanie and I typed the important parts of responses though she shared a lot of information.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Project 2 draft

Choosing a major is like choosing something that you're willing to sign your life over to, from higher education to working in a field for the rest of your life. I have only had one true thing in life

Project 2 Final Draft

The nursing comunity I have only had one true thing in life that I’m passion about which is helping others. As soon as we I step foot into college I am presented with a choice, a choice that would pro

bottom of page